Foxtale, my favorite bookstore

Some people might scoff at how far I drive (45 minutes in reasonable traffic) for a good book when there are big box bookstores closer and the internet at my fingertips for goodness sakes. But I am here to tell you that people come all the way from Paris, France, to Foxtale Book Shoppe in Woodstock, GA https://www.facebook.com/FoxTaleBookShoppe. I know this for a fact and here is how.

It was a Friday evening book-signing by Edward Kelsey Moore for his very first novel, The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat http://www.edwardkelseymoore.com/supremes-at-earls.html. I had read the book because one of the three owners of Foxtale recommended it. You should listen to these ladies when they tell you to read a good book, because they know of which they speak. What I didn’t know was that everybody else was aware of this already, so when my hubby and I showed up, it was obvious I should have made reservations. Not to worry, the owners came to our rescue and gave us the two seats that were vacated by unfortunate no-shows.

Fate is what stepped in, apparently, because there were two ladies—sisters—at our table and one of them lived in France. We immediately bonded over books and art. The sister from France had an Etsy shop and I wanted to start one. While we sipped our wine and nibbled our hors d’oeuvres, before Mr. Moore began his presentation and the Supremes began to sing (yes, the three owners morphed into, I swear, it was the Supremes), we bonded. We traded e-mail addresses and have been pals ever since!

A year and some change later, the sisters reunited for their annual visit and we all met again in Woodstock. Over lunch we shared family stories, compared notes on education and youth sports in our different countries, and laughed about the wonderful time we had that night at Foxtale.

Now, who wouldn’t drive a few miles for an experience like that?!

5 thoughts on “Foxtale, my favorite bookstore

  1. juliannepatty

    I’ve always wished that they’d pick up the whole of @woodstock_ga and move it somewhere that’s not so hot. I’d live there (and frequent @Foxtale) in a second!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

