Mardi Gras 2014, Cumming Playhouse, Jan. 24-26

I’m a Hole in the Wall Again! But I’ve Never Been a Zombie

 

Just last night, one of my past experiences came full circle.

 

You see this is my theory: everything in life prepares you for what is coming next. It may not be the very next thing happening in your life, but eventually you’ll use that experience to do a better job on the future one. Or at least, I always hope I do a better job.

 

We’ll see this weekend. I am volunteering for a group of performers in my community who are doing a production called Mardi Gras 2014. Representing Age Well Forsyth, this troupe will donate the proceeds of their musical to the Alzheimer’s Respite Care Fund. As a member of the Forsyth County Retired Teachers Association, I was asked to participate if I had any talents to offer. Well, I’m not much of a performer. When I sing, I need an alto on both side of me to keep me on key. When I dance, I trip over my own toes. When I speak, I often forget my lines. Performing hasn’t been my long suit for sure. But I figured I could take up tickets or something, so I e-mailed Dr. Linda Ledbetter, the director, and said I’d help. She seemed excited to have me and said the first rehearsal was Monday night. I thought it must be really hard to get someone to take up tickets.  I also wondered how much rehearsing it would take to do that. But I agreed to attend, thinking I’d get to see what the performance was going to be about.

 

It turns out, my job is not to take up tickets. I am the curtain opener and closer. That and the person who makes sure the people who are due out on stage are waiting in the wings at the right time to go out and do their numbers. This takes some practice for sure. The curtains have several panels in them so that people can come and go through them even if they are closed. This production has a master of ceremonies who does just that and I have to make sure he finds the hole so he isn’t fumbling around trying to get through the wrong parts of the curtains. 

 

Aha! I have been a hole in the wall before. I can do this, I thought. It was a long time ago. High school Latin Club meeting, to be exact. Yes, I guess it is no surprise I was a Latin language nerd. I loved the teacher, Mrs. Lutin. I know, Lutin for Latin was funny back then, too. Anyway, we were reinacting the legend of Pyramus and Thisbe, the story Shakespeare must have based Romeo and Juliette on. Pyramus was the handsome sweep-you-off-your-feet next-door-neighbor of Thisbe, the beautiful young maiden, of course. Their families didn’t get along and sure enough that made the two of them destined to fall in love. There was a wall that separated the two houses and in that wall there was a crack. There is where almost the entire love affair took place, except for the dying part. Well, I was chosen to perform. My best friend, Stephanie, was Thisbe and I forget who Pyramus was, but I got the lead role—the wall and the hole therein.  How lucky can you get?!

 

So you see, I am prepared to open that curtain, to reveal that hole, to save the MC from disaster on the stage. But I was thrown for a bit of a loop when the final number was announced. Thriller. They are doing Michael Jackson’s Thriller in the finale and everyone, even backstage people are to come in zombie costumes to take their bows.

 

I keep racking my brain . . . . . surely sometime in my life I have been a walking dead!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mardi Gras 2014, Cumming Playhouse, Jan. 24-26

Leave a Reply

